- Call us now for a free consultation: 713-972-1100

Possession of Controlled Substances :: Houston Controlled Substance Possession Lawyer Greco Neyland, PC

Possession of Controlled Substances

The Texas Health & Safety Code deals with the multiple different categories of controlled substances and the corresponding penalties for possession. Possession of controlled substances will range from Class A misdemeanors to First-degree felonies.

The reason why there is such a wide range of penalties is because there are different levels of crimes based on the possession amount, as well as the drug you are in possession of. Click here to see the possession of controlled substances chart. This chart lays out the 4 penalty groups (as defined by the Health & Safety Code) and their corresponding punishment ranges based on the amount in possession.

The law for merely possessing a controlled substance is vastly different compared to being charged with manufacturing, delivery, or intent to deliver controlled substance. If you look at this chart, you can also see ranges of punishment for the amounts

Possession of Controlled Substances Chart

OFFENSE

AMOUNT

PUNISHMENT RANGE

Penalty Group 1

H&SC § 481.115

400 grams or more

200 – 400 grams

4 – 200 grams

1 – 4 grams

Less than 1 gram

10-99 years & $100,000 max fine

1st degree felony

2nd degree felony

3rd degree felony

State jail felony

Penalty Group 1-A

H&SC § 481.1151

8,000 units or more

4,000-7,999 units

80-3,999 units

20-79 units

Less than 20 units

15-99 years & $250,000 max fine

1st degree felony

2nd degree felony

3rd degree felony

State jail felony

Penalty Group 2

H&SC § 481.116

400 grams or more

4 – 400 grams

1 – 4 grams

Less than 1 gram

5-99 years & $50,000 max fine

2nd degree felony

3rd degree felony

State jail felony

Penalty Group 2-A

H&SC § 481.1161

More than 2,000 lbs.

50 – 2,000 lbs.

5 – 50 lbs.

4 oz. – 5 lbs.

2 oz. – 4 oz.

Less than 2 oz.

5-99 years & $50,000 max fine

2nd degree felony

3rd degree felony

State jail felony

Class A misdemeanor

Class B misdemeanor

Penalty Group 3

H&SC § 481.117

400 grams or more

200 – 400 grams

28 – 200 grams

Less than 28 grams

5-99 years & $50,000 max fine

2nd degree felony

3rd degree felony

Class A misdemeanor

Penalty Group 4

H&SC § 481.118

400 grams or more

200 – 400 grams

28 – 200 grams

Less than 28 grams

5-99 years & $50,000 max fine

2nd degree felony

3rd degree felony

Class B misdemeanor

Penalty Groups

The Texas Health & Safety Code categorizes different drugs into what are called, “penalty groups.” Each penalty group consists of a group of drugs similar in compound and chemical make-up to one another.

Common penalty group 1 drugs include, but are not limited to:

  • Cocaine
  • Heroin
  • Meth
  • Codeine
  • Oxycodone
  • Hydrocodone

Common penalty group 1-A drugs include:

  • LSD

Common penalty group 2 drugs include, but are not limited to:

  • MDMA (Ecstasy)
  • PCP

Common penalty group 3 drugs include, but are not limited to:

  • Clonazepam
  • Lorazepam
  • Alprazolam (Xanax)

    Available Days, Nights, & Weekends

    713.972.1100

    logo-footer

    HOUSTON OFFICE
    701 N Post Oak Rd #425
    Houston, TX 77024
    Phone: (713) 972-1100

    FORT BEND OFFICE
    77 Sugar Creek Center Blvd #230
    Sugar Land, TX 77478
    Phone: (281) 769-7544

    KINGWOOD OFFICE
    900 Rockmead Dr #132
    Kingwood, TX 77339
    Phone: (281) 312-0155

    Copyright © 2017, Greco Neyland, PC

    We serve the following localities: Montgomery County including Conroe, Montgomery, The Woodlands, Magnolia, New Caney, Porter, Splendora, and Willis; Harris County including Cypress, Houston, Tomball, Spring, and West University Place; Walker County including Huntsville; and Waller County including Hempstead.